1st digital edition of the Orientation Day

Due to the current health crisis and with the aim of making the welcome and integration contract (CAI) accessible to a larger number of people, the CAI orientation day was held in virtual form for the first time on 24 October.

More than 500 signatories of the CAI participated online in this event organised by the Department for Integration of the Ministry for Family, Integration and the Greater Region. The orientation day provides an opportunity to get to know the administrative procedures, institutions and associations in Luxembourg.

“We want to get to know you. We want to get to know each other and to build the future of this country all together, to look in the same direction and to ensure that our children and grandchildren can have a great future in this country”, pointed out Corinne Cahen, minister of Family Affaires and Integration.

Representatives of ministries, administrations and associations in Luxembourg were present at 24 virtual stands to answer the signatories’ questions on integration issues such as the participation in associations, education, sport or culture.

Participants could also choose between 11 thematic workshops (for example on nationality, language skills, entrepreneurship) and had the opportunity to exchange their views in a virtual forum (Networking Lounge).

The welcome and integration contract (CAI)

The CAI is a voluntary integration programme for all non-Luxembourgers. The programme enables its signatories to get to know Luxembourg, its languages, customs and institutions through language courses, civic education courses and an orientation day.

1ère édition digitale de la journée d’orientation du Contrat d’accueil et d’intégration

Dans le contexte actuel de la crise sanitaire mais aussi dans l’optique de rendre le Contrat d’accueil et d’intégration (CAI) plus accessible à un plus grand nombre de personnes à l’avenir, la journée d’orientation a eu lieu le 24 octobre pour la première fois sous forme virtuelle.

Plus de 500 signataires du CAI ont participé à cette journée virtuelle, qui a été organisée par le Département de l’Intégration du ministère de la Famille, de l’Intégration et à la Grande Région. Le but du CAI est de permettre de se familiariser avec les démarches administratives, les institutions et la vie associative au Luxembourg.

« Nous voulons mieux nous connaître et construire l’avenir de ce pays tous ensemble. Nous souhaitons regarder dans la même direction et faire en sorte que nos enfants et petits-enfants puissent avoir un bon avenir dans ce pays », a souligné la ministre de la Famille et de l’Intégration, Corinne Cahen.

Des représentants de différents ministères, administrations et associations du Luxembourg étaient présents sur 24 stands virtuels afin de répondre aux questions des signataires autour de sujets de l’intégration, comme par exemple la participation associative, la formation continue, le sport ou encore la culture.

Les participants ont également pu choisir entre 11 ateliers thématiques (par exemple sur la nationalité, la pratique des langues, l’entrepreneuriat) et ils ont eu l’occasion de s’échanger dans un forum virtuel (« Networking lounge »).

Le Contrat d’accueil et d’intégration (CAI)

Le CAI est un programme d’intégration facultatif qui s’adresse à tous les résidents non-luxembourgeois et qui permet à ses signataires de découvrir le Luxembourg, ses langues, ses coutumes et ses institutions au travers de formations linguistiques, de cours d’instruction civique et donc d’une journée d’orientation.